Uncategorized

Ugly Delicious Pasta

It’s been a hot minute since I’ve posted anything. But that’s real life. So.

This recipe came about because I had a few ingredients that were gonna go bad and I needed to use them up that night. And somehow that #fridgeforaging turned into my favorite meal. (If you don’t follow that hashtag, do it!)

Also. Let’s get one thing clear. This is not healthy. But it is SO worth it man. But don’t come at me with you don’t have to use butter cause. You. Do.

Another thing. I don’t measure. So start little and go from there. Trust your gut. Or in this case your taste buds.

What you’ll need:

  • Chicken (I used 4 boneless, skinless thighs) seasoned with garlic powder, salt & pepper, and Cajun seasoning
  • Olive oil/butter
  • Minced garlic (however much you like. I like a lot)
  • Shiitake mushrooms (it HAS to be shiitake. Otherwise you miss out on so much richness)
  • Red and yellow bell peppers (I used 3 small ones)
  • 1/3 sweet onion
  • Heavy cream (about 1 cup give or take)
  • White wine (a little more than a splash)
  • Lemon juice (about 1 lemon)
  • Parmesan reggiano (to your taste)
  • Pasta (I use vermicelli because I hate when my noodles remind me of worms *gag*)

What you’ll do:

  • You’re going to pan fry the seasoned chicken in olive oil and a little butter until browned and cooked through. Easy peasy.
  • Melt about half a stick of butter (I know. Just stay with me) in a pan. Add minced garlic and the onion. Stir those around and pretend you’re a fancy chef. Add in the mushrooms (I cut these into thick match sticks) and peppers (I dice these babies).
  • Once the peppers are cooked down (basically not so crispy anymore), you’ll add in the heavy cream, white wine, lemon juice. Stir it around. Let it simmer for a few.
  • Grate in the cheese until it thickens up the sauce. Or until your hand gets tired.
  • Season with Cajun seasoning. Taste it and add in a little of whatever you think it’s lacking from the ingredient list.
  • Once the chicken is cooked through, and your sauce is nice and thick. Add the chicken into the sauce and let it simmer for about 3-5 minutes.
  • Serve over pasta. Live your best life.

Peace and blessings.

Leave a comment